Sometimes I just awake with fear

Dedicated to my husband Petar


Sometimes I just awake with fear

that you are gone.  An empty space

lies down beside me, where your face

was lying next to mine, quite near.

I search for you, I crave you, dear

I seek your smell in every room.

My loneliness and worries loom,

My future seems unclear.

Your poems still caress my ear

– the soul of an insatiable guitar

who searches for the solitary star

emerging from the ephemera.

I welcome you and madness sheer

besiege my heart. I skip a beat,

there is no time for self retreat,

I am safe for now, I disappear.

Leave a Reply

